إدارة النظافة الصحية اثناء الحيض، مسألة لا تحتمل التأجيل

 

يُنظر إلى الحيض على أنه عائق كبير في بعض أجزاء العالم، مثل كينيا، لأنه يتم النظر إلى بعض الفتيات على أنهن مخزيات وغير نظيفات. ولكن التحدي الأكبر هو الحصول على منتجات صحية عالية الجودة، وعلى الرغم من اقرار مشروع قانون في كينيا عام 2017 لإعلام الفتيات بأن الحكومة "ستوفر فوطًا صحية مجانية، كافية وعالية الجودة لكل فتاة مسجلة في مؤسسة تعليمية عامة بالغة سن الرشد" (الرئاسة، 2017)، لم يحصلن الفتيات قط على ذلك، و "ثلثي النساء والفتيات لم يحصلن بعد على الفوط الصحية" (نجوروج، 2019)، بسبب انخفاض التغطية.

Menstruation is perceived as a significant barrier in some parts of the world, such as Kenya, because some girls are seen as shameful and unclean. The main challenge, however, is obtaining high-quality sanitary products. Even though a bill was passed in Kenya in 2017 to reassure girls that the government would be “providing free, sufficient and quality sanitary towels to every girl child registered and enrolled in a public education institution and has reached puberty” (The Presidency, 2017), girls still lack access to sanitary towels, and “two-thirds of women and girls are yet to have access to sanitary towels” (Njoroge, 2019), due to low coverage.

هذا المخطط ليس مستدامًا ويصل إلى الفتيات الأكثر ضعفًا في كيسومو، اللواتي بمجرد نفاد إمدادات الفوط الصحية، يتركن بدون موارد. وعلى الرغم من أن الفتيات في البلدان الأكثر تقدمًا قد يعانين من مشاكل طفيفة خلال فترات الحيض، إلا أن نوعية الحياة للفتيات الكينيات أكثر سوءًا لأنهن يتغيبن عن المدرسة أو حتى يتسربن تمامًا بسبب الدورة الشهرية.

لا مفر من الحيض، ومع ذلك تكافح الفتيات والنساء في إفريقيا للتعامل مع الدورة الشهرية. وفقًا لنتائج تعداد السكان والمساكن في كينيا لعام 2019، تشكل الإناث 50.5٪ من السكان، ما يشير إلى أن العديد من النساء يعانين من مشاكل الدورة الشهرية كل شهر. وفي هذا الإطار يظهر افتقار الوعي بشأن هذه القضية الصحية الحرجة، فضلاً عن عدم وجود حل، لذلك فهذا يستحق اهتمامًا خاصًا لأنه يؤثر على آلاف الفتيات الكينيات.

ذكر صندوق الصرف الصحي والنظافة أن "6 من كل 10 فتيات" لم يسمعن قط بالحيض ولم يكنّ على علم بأنها مؤلمة قبل الدورة الشهرية الأولى (صحة الدورة الشهرية والنظافة: كينيا، 2019). وبالتالي، الفتيات غير مستعدات بسبب عدم وجود من يلجأن إليه للحصول على المساعدة، والارتباك بشأن ما يحدث لأجسادهن يجعلهن يشعرن بالقلق والخجل. يتعين القيام بعمل جاهد في إدارة نظافة الدورة الشهرية، وفي الأساس "تأمين مواد نظيفة لإدارة الدورة الشهرية تجمع الدماء ويمكن تبديلها على انفراد كلما لزم الأمر طوال فترة الحيض، باستخدام الصابون والماء لغسل الجسم حسب الاقتضاء، والوصول إلى مواقع خاصة للتخلص من مواد الدورة الشهرية المستعملة "(World Vison، 2019).

علاوة على ذلك، يجب أن تبذل جهود كبيرة على جميع المستويات بكسر حاجز الصمت والتوعية بدلا من الخجل. وفقًا لليونيسيف، "أكثر من 1.2 مليون طفلة في المدرسة الابتدائية في كينيا، التي يبلغ عدد سكانها 50 مليون نسمة، لا يذهبون إلى المدرسة على الإطلاق" (Mire ، 2020) بسبب افتقار المنتجات الصحية. تؤدي هذه المشكلة أيضًا إلى أمراض مثل، "التهابات المسالك البولية، والتهابات مجرى الحوض، والاضطرابات العقلية، ومتلازمة الصدمة السامة" (Ejiroghene Ajari، 2020)، بالإضافة إلى القلق، وتناول كميات أقل من الطعام (Tull، 2019)، والحمل غير المقصود.

وبالتالي، تواجه النساء أثناء فترة الحيض تحديات يمكن تجنبها بسبب نقص المعرفة والإدارة للنظافة الصحية في هذه الحالة مما يؤدي إلى تجارب حيض مخزية كل شهر.

وفي الختام، تضطر المرأة إلى قضاء فترات خطرة وغير صحية بسبب عدم حصولها على المنتجات اللازمة. وبالتالي، يؤدي ذلك إلى سلوك خطر كجعل الفتيات الصغيرات عرضة لممارسة العلاقات الجنسية مقابل الفوط الصحية مما يؤدي إلى فوارق غير متكافئة بين الجنسين. يمكن أن يؤثر الخطر أيضًا على صحتهن، لذلك قد يصابون بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية والإيدز والأمراض الأخرى المنقولة بالاتصال الجنسي من أجل الحصول على الفوط الصحية. لا يتعلق الأمر فقط بالمخاطر الصحية، بل "افتقار الفتيات إلى الموارد اللازمة في فترة الحيض، كما يمكن أن تؤثر أيضًا على علم الفتيات وسلامتهن وأحيانًا على حياتهن بأكملها." (معونة العمل، 2021).

بشكل عام، لا تزال قضية إدارة النظافة الصحية خلال دورة الحيض محظورة ، والأشخاص الذين ينشرون معلومات مضللة وتقاليد ثقافية قديمة مترسخة في المجتمعات، يؤثرون في العديد من الفتيات خلال الدورة الشهرية دون أن يكون لديهن فكرة عما يجب القيام به.

أخيرًا، تحتاج الفتيات والنساء إلى معلومات دقيقة، وإمكانية الحصول على منتجات عالية الجودة، والبنية التحتية للصرف الصحي والنظافة العامة حتى ننجح في إدارة النظافة الصحية في حالة دورة الحيض. ونتيجة لذلك، من المهم إشراك قادة البلدان من أجل تهيئة بيئة داعمة لتحسين إدارة الموارد البشرية.

 

ديماتاليا رزق

Related Posts

  • All Post
  • Arts
  • CHIC & GLAMOROUS
  • DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH
  • DID YOU KNOW
  • الأحداث
  • Executives
  • مالية وتكنولوجية
  • HARMONIZING ENVIRONMENT
  • الإبتكار والإلهام
  • قانونية
  • نمط الحياة
  • مقالات
  • MOVERS-SHAKERS
  • وسائل نفل
  • مقابلات
  • اقتباسات
  • تطوير الذات
  • SOCIAL
  • Sport
  • أحدث الأخبار
  • Technology
  • Travel
  • Uncategorized
  • العافية
  • سيرتها الذاتية
    •   Back
    • مدرب الحياة
    • علم النفس
    • الأعمال والقيادة
    •   Back
    • COACHING
    • FINANCE
    • تطوير الذات
    • MONALISA SMILE
    • HEAD OVER HEELS
    • COCOONING
    • الإنماء
    • حول إدارة الأعمال
    • مالية وتكنولوجية
    •   Back
    • NUTRITION
    • HEALTH
    • LA DOLCE VITA
    • حول العالم
    • قراءاتي
    •   Back
    • الصحة والتغذية
    • النهج الشامل
    •   Back
    • Quotes
    • Hersstory
    • Herstory
    •   Back
    • الأزياء الرائجة
#image_title

مارس 26, 2024/

Nisreen Deeb has more than 13 years in the IT industry by consulting businesses on their digital  transformation journey and 10 years in the social entrepreneurship by co-founding many  initiatives to empower youth and women in Lebanon, and currently she is the director of the  Lebanese League for Women in Business. She is certified from international institutions on  leadership, management, governance of organizations, and roles of policies in development.  Nisreen is involved in encouraging young women to appreciate STEAM and aspires to global  reach through the power of technology, which is perceptible from her winning achievement in  2013 as a one of the top 5 TechWomen emerging leaders in Lebanon and spent five weeks in  Silicon Valley.   Cultivating Opportunities: Nisreen’s Dedication to Empowering Lebanon’s…

Follow Us

[instagram-feed feed=1]

Twitter Feed

[custom-twitter-feeds feed=1]

Edit Template

Address:
71-75 Shelton Street Greater
London, London, WC2H 9JQ,
United Kingdom

You have been successfully Subscribed! Ops! Something went wrong, please try again.

Trending Posts

© 2023 Created with EXECUTIVE WOMEN TEAM

arالعربية

Lack of Menstrual Hygiene Management as a Health Issue

 

Globally, menstruation is part of a woman’s life, and her transition from girlhood to womanhood. According to UN Women in 2019, It is “bleeding that occurs as part of women’s monthly cycles during their reproductive years and 3-5 days is the average time women menstruate in a monthly cycle”.

Menstruation is perceived as a significant barrier in some parts of the world, such as Kenya, because some girls are seen as shameful and unclean. The main challenge, however, is obtaining high-quality sanitary products. Even though a bill was passed in Kenya in 2017 to reassure girls that the government would be “providing free, sufficient and quality sanitary towels to every girl child registered and enrolled in a public education institution and has reached puberty” (The Presidency, 2017), girls still lack access to sanitary towels, and “two-thirds of women and girls are yet to have access to sanitary towels” (Njoroge, 2019), due to low coverage.

This scheme is not sustainable and reaching the Kisumu’s most vulnerable girls, who once the supply of sanitary pads runs out, are left with zero resources. Even though girls in more developed countries may experience minor inconvenience during their periods, Kenyan girls have a much lower quality of life because they miss school or even drop out entirely due to their periods.

Menstruation is unavoidable, yet girls and women in Africa struggle to cope during their menstrual cycle. According to the 2019 Kenya Population and Housing Census results, females make up 50.5% of the population, meaning that many women who have menstrual problems every month. There appears to be a lack of awareness concerning this critical health issue, as well as no solution, so it deserves special attention because it affects thousands of Kenyan girls.

The Sanitation and Hygiene Fund stated that “6 out of 10 girls” have never heard of the idea of menstruation and were unaware that it was painful until their first period (Menstrual Health and Hygiene: Kenya, 2019). Girls are thus unprepared because there is no one to turn to for assistance, and confusion about what is happening to their bodies causes them to feel anxious and self-conscious. There is a lot more work to be done in menstrual hygiene management, which is essentially, “clean menstrual management materials to absorb or collect blood that can be changed in privacy as often as necessary for the duration of the menstruation period, using soap and water for washing the body as required, and having access to facilities to dispose of used menstrual management materials” (World Vison, 2019).

Furthermore, significant efforts must begin at all levels by breaking the silence and bringing awareness rather than shame. According to UNICEF, “more than 1.2 million primary school-age children in Kenya, which has a population of 50 million, do not attend school at all” (Mire, 2020) due to period poverty and lack of access to sanitary products. This issue also contributes to diseases such as, “urinary tract infections, pelvic tract infections, mental disorders, toxic shock syndrome” (Ejiroghene Ajari, 2020), as well as anxiety, eating less (Tull, 2019), and unintended pregnancies.

Thus, menstruating women face unnecessary challenges due to a lack of knowledge about menstruation and MHM, which results in humiliating menstrual experiences every month.

In conclusion, women are forced to have unsafe and unsanitary periods due to a lack of access to sanitary products. The lack of access encourages risky behavior such as leaving young girls vulnerable to have sexual relationships in exchange for sanitary pads resulting in unequal gender disparities. The danger can also affect their health, so they may catch HIV, AIDS, and other STDs for the sake of obtaining sanitary pads. It is not only about health risks, but “period poverty can also mean girls’ education, well-being, and sometimes entire lives are affected.” (Action Aid, 2021).

Overall, the issue of MHM remains taboo and the people spreading misinformation and old cultural traditions embedded within communities, have an impact on many girls who get their period without having an idea about what to do.

Lastly, girls and women need accurate information, access to quality products, and adequate WASH infrastructure to be successful in MHM. As a result, it is critical to involve country leaders in order to foster a supportive environment for better MHM.

 

Dimathalia Rizk

Related Posts

  • All Post
  • Arts
  • CHIC & GLAMOROUS
  • DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH
  • DID YOU KNOW
  • EVENTS
  • Executives
  • FINANCE & TECH
  • HARMONIZING ENVIRONMENT
  • INSPIRATIONAL
  • LEGAL
  • LIFESTYLE
  • MANAGERIAL
  • MOVERS-SHAKERS
  • ON THE MOVE
  • ONE-ON-ONE
  • POETRY & QUOTES
  • SELF DEVELOPMENT
  • SOCIAL
  • Sport
  • TEA TIME
  • Technology
  • Travel
  • Uncategorized
  • WELLNESS
  • WHO IS SHE?
    •   Back
    • LIFE COACHING
    • PSYCHOLOGY
    • BUSINESS & LEADERSHIP
    •   Back
    • COACHING
    • FINANCE
    • SELF DEVELOPMENT
    • MONALISA SMILE
    • HEAD OVER HEELS
    • COCOONING
    • DEVELOPMENT
    • ENTREPRENEURIAL
    • FINANCE & TECH
    •   Back
    • NUTRITION
    • HEALTH
    • LA DOLCE VITA
    • ME, MYSELF & FLY
    • MY READINGS
    •   Back
    • HEALTH & NUTRITION
    • HOLISTIC
    •   Back
    • Quotes
    • Hersstory
    • Herstory
    •   Back
    • TRENDY

Follow Us

Twitter Feed

Elevate Your Growth: Embrace Help, Ownership, Boundaries, and New Frontiers!

Check out these tips by the Global president of Executive-woman @GhossoubZeina

#executivewomen #womenempowerment #embracingempowerment #growth #potential #ownership #boundaries #help

4

Load More

Edit Template

Address:
71-75 Shelton Street Greater
London, London, WC2H 9JQ,
United Kingdom

You have been successfully Subscribed! Ops! Something went wrong, please try again.

Trending Posts

© 2023 Created with EXECUTIVE WOMEN TEAM

en_USEnglish